News Logo files
Download logo
429c7099388991e7cf18ce657e97ea7cLR

MOTHER KNOWS BEST, BUT NOT IN GREAT BRITAIN

2nd March 2009
Over the counter cough and cold medicines set to be 90% less readily available for parents of 6-12 year olds. The Commission on Human Medicines (CHM) has advised on a package of measures ostensibly to improve safe use of over-the-counter (OTC) cough and cold medicines in relation to children. For children aged 6-12 year medicines will only be available from the UK’s 10,000 pharmacies rather than the 102,000* UK grocery retail outlets and supermarkets as presently stocked. This over 90% cut in distribution is designed to ensure parents obtain clear advice on the correct application of OTC cough and cold medicines for children from a pharmacist (rather than relying on them to follow instructions on these products and exercise their own self-judgement) – but has potentially serious repercussions. In rural communities served only by a local supermarket or general store parents may be unable to access these medicines as an option for the treatment of their children when they require them. ...


Please login or register, if you would like to see more information or download files.

Get in touch

For more information please contact Eva Frankel or Nathalie Mackinovski or Yael Mann or Lucinda Marshall or Liv Tompkinson or Charlotte Bishop at Brandnation:

Eva Frankel 0207 940 7179 eva@brandnation.co.uk
Nathalie Mackinovski 0207 940 7177 nathalie@brandnation.co.uk
Yael Mann 0207 940 7182 yael@brandnation.co.uk
Lucinda Marshall 0207 940 7188 lucinda@brandnation.co.uk
Liv Tompkinson 0207 940 7187 liv@brandnation.co.uk
Charlotte Bishop 0207 940 7173 charlotte@brandnation.co.uk