News Logo files
Download logo
6d5d3484ea4264bea45f897a1578f583LR

Boys’ Dirty Habits Cause Spate of Winter Illness

3rd November 2008
82% of school boys will suffer from gastric infections and colds this winter term. This especially high incidence of infection in young boys is due in part to poor hand cleaning and inattention to personal hygiene – which adds to the usual unavoidable transmission hazards. A survey undertaken by voxpopuk. com for Hands Up For Hygiene, where 1,000 parents, teachers and school nurses were polled, shows: 91% of boys do not wash their hands properly after going to the toilet, blowing their nose, playing with pets and playing sport. Compared to: 32% of girls, who are more thorough while washing their hands, making them less susceptible to carry and pass on infections. Victoria Brunning, brand manager for Carex Hands up for Hygiene is surprised by the results, "I expected boys to spend less time washing their hands than girls, but am worried by the high number who did not spend at least 15 seconds washing their hands. ...


Please login or register, if you would like to see more information or download files.

Get in touch

For more information please contact Eva Frankel or Nathalie Mackinovski or Yael Mann or Lucinda Marshall or Liv Tompkinson or Charlotte Bishop at Brandnation:

Eva Frankel 0207 940 7179 eva@brandnation.co.uk
Nathalie Mackinovski 0207 940 7177 nathalie@brandnation.co.uk
Yael Mann 0207 940 7182 yael@brandnation.co.uk
Lucinda Marshall 0207 940 7188 lucinda@brandnation.co.uk
Liv Tompkinson 0207 940 7187 liv@brandnation.co.uk
Charlotte Bishop 0207 940 7173 charlotte@brandnation.co.uk