News Logo files
Download logo
c578810f156936197003c0df91de6265LR

BRITS GET BURNED BY VAT RISE ON SUNCREAM

7th July 2010
Cancer Costs Expose Potential False Economy Of VAT Rise on Sun Cream When it comes to sun protection, the rise in VAT may well prove a completely false economy by indirectly pushing up the cost of the nation’s annual bill for skin cancer treatment – currently around 71m. The government charges the full rate of VAT on sun cream by classifying it as a luxury item rather than a health protection product which would make it exempt from VAT. Skin cancer is one of the most common forms of cancer in the UK and it is on the rise – according to Cancer Research around 70,000 new cases of skin cancer were diagnosed in the UK in 2009 and nearly 2,000 people died. Quite simply, the protection we invest in now will help prevent a skin cancer time bomb, and the huge costs associated with it, in years to come. ...


Please login or register, if you would like to see more information or download files.

Get in touch

For more information please contact Eva Frankel or Nathalie Mackinovski or Yael Mann or Lucinda Marshall or Liv Tompkinson or Charlotte Bishop at Brandnation:

Eva Frankel 0207 940 7179 eva@brandnation.co.uk
Nathalie Mackinovski 0207 940 7177 nathalie@brandnation.co.uk
Yael Mann 0207 940 7182 yael@brandnation.co.uk
Lucinda Marshall 0207 940 7188 lucinda@brandnation.co.uk
Liv Tompkinson 0207 940 7187 liv@brandnation.co.uk
Charlotte Bishop 0207 940 7173 charlotte@brandnation.co.uk