News Image gallery
  • SetSize220180-dentalguardhi2
Download images
News Logo files
Download logo
dentalguardhi

Glaswegians Grinding Their Way to Deafness

6th March 2014
Over a third of Glasgow residents grind their teeth at night - which can contribute to hearing loss.   In a recent survey* undertaken by oral health care leaders, DenTek Oral Care, over 35% of Glaswegians polled stated that they were grinding their teeth whilst asleep at night. Teeth grinding or bruxism to give it its medical term isn’t just a noisy inconvenience to sleeping partners – it contributes to jaw pain, headaches, sleeplessness and in extreme cases can contribute to deafness.   So why are Glaswegians more prone than others in the UK to teeth grinding? One answer may lie in other research findings that showed that 40% of Glaswegians are stressed out because of money worries – and stress is one of the major causes of bruxism. Perhaps pressure on wallets is translating to pressure on teeth. So what can be done?   Well, according to Dr Dawn Harper, “Teeth grinding causes tooth wear, sually in the form of flattening and breakage. ...


Please login or register, if you would like to see more information or download files.

Get in touch

For more information please contact Eva Frankel or Nathalie Mackinovski or Yael Mann or Lucinda Marshall or Liv Tompkinson or Charlotte Bishop at Brandnation:

Eva Frankel 0207 940 7179 eva@brandnation.co.uk
Nathalie Mackinovski 0207 940 7177 nathalie@brandnation.co.uk
Yael Mann 0207 940 7182 yael@brandnation.co.uk
Lucinda Marshall 0207 940 7188 lucinda@brandnation.co.uk
Liv Tompkinson 0207 940 7187 liv@brandnation.co.uk
Charlotte Bishop 0207 940 7173 charlotte@brandnation.co.uk